24/7 Call Centre
Language

FAQs on travel insurance and assistance

General
Your policy
Claims
General

What is travel insurance?

Travel insurance is designed to cover losses arising from sudden and unforeseeable circumstances due to an emergency. 

Visit our "What is travel insurance?" section on our website and learn more.

Why do I need travel insurance?

A travel medical insurance plan provides emergency health and medical coverage in the event of an accident, injury or sickness beyond your control outside of your province of residence. Travel insurance can offset the high medical costs associated with being ill outside of your province or when you’re in the United States or overseas. Likewise, trip cancellation insurance can also offset financial loss resulting from pre-paid non-refundable costs of your trip if you cancel for an insured reason.

Visit our "Why do I need travel insurance?" section on our website and learn more.

How do I select a travel insurance plan?

Base your purchase decision on your needs. If you are a Canadian travelling outside of your province of residence, you may require either medical insurance or cancellation coverage, or, perhaps both.  Consider your immediate and upcoming travel plans. If you’re travelling more than once in a year, then consider an Annual Medical Plan which is both convenient and saves you money. 

If you’re visiting Canada for a brief leisure trip, or a temporary work permit, or perhaps on a super visa, consider Visitor to Canada insurance.

Visit our "Choosing travel insurance" section and explore your options. Read over your policy documents and be familiar with your Benefits, Coverages, Limitations and Exclusions.

What should I do if I am in a medical emergency?

A: If you are able to, please contact us before seeking medical treatment. We can assist by providing a referral to the nearest medical facility with appropriate levels of care, and contacting them on your behalf in advance so they are prepared when you arrive. In the case of a medical emergency, contact our Emergency Assistance team (or have a family member contact us on your behalf) by calling 1-844-310-1578 toll-free from North America or collect at 1-519-514-0355, within 24 hours of being admitted. We’ll take care of the rest by:

  • Confirming coverage with the medical facility
  • Doing our best to ensure that you receive the necessary medical treatment
  • Communicating with your treating and family physicians to determine eligibility as soon as possible while also monitoring your care
  • Arranging billing procedures
  • If required, arranging for medical transportation to return you to Canada

Be sure to also review our helpful "On Your Trip" section on our website.

Your policy

What's covered, what's not covered?

Travel insurance plans with emergency medical benefits, such as the Medical Plan, Medical + Cancellation Plan, and Annual Medical Plan, include a variety of valuable coverages and benefits such as emergency hospital accommodation, and reasonable and customary services and supplies necessary for your emergency care if you are admitted to a medical facility as an inpatient while travelling outside of Canada. It can also include emergency medical care for you such as the services of a legally licensed physician, surgeon, anesthetist or registered nurse, and the services of legally licensed practitioners for treatment of a covered injury such as a chiropractor, osteopath, chiropodist, podiatrist, acupuncturist or physiotherapist.

Travel insurance with emergency medical benefits may also cover the costs of transporting up to two family members or friends to your bedside if you’re hospitalized. 

You may also have access to emergency dental treatment if your teeth are damaged as a result of an accidental blow to the face.  Emergency transportation such as air ambulance to transport you to the nearest appropriate medical facility or to a Canadian hospital due to a covered emergency sickness or injury may also be included (pre-approved and arranged by Allianz Global Assistance).

Travel insurance does not cover everything, however, as any plan will have limitations and exclusions, such as pre-existing medical conditions.  Benefits are not typically payable for costs incurred due to any act of war, kidnapping, act of terrorism, riot, strike or civil commotion or unlawful visit in any country.

Be sure to read your travel policy carefully before you travel and visit our "What’s covered, what’s not covered?" section of our website for more information.

Can I cancel my trip for any reason and get all my money back?

Not all reasons for trip cancellation are covered. If the travel insurance policy you’ve purchased includes Trip Cancellation coverage, your benefits should refund prepaid, nonrefundable trip payments or deposits if you have to cancel for a Covered Reason. Covered Reasons may include but are not limited to: sudden and unforeseen medical emergencies, if your home is made uninhabitable by fire, flood, burglary, vandalism or natural disaster, hijacking or quarantine. Please read your policy terms and conditions to find out exactly what is covered.

Will travel insurance cover me anywhere in the world?  Are there certain countries where the benefits are limited?

Most travel insurance plans don’t cover expenses related to travel in a city, region, or country for which Global Affairs Canada has issued a travel advisory before the policy effective date to avoid all travel, or to avoid non-essential travel, to that city, region, or country. 

Most travel insurance plans don’t cover expenses related to travel in any countries for which the Canadian government has issued a Travel Warning in writing. Before buying travel insurance, and again before you leave on your trip, visit www.travel.gc.ca. Be sure to review the terms and conditions of your travel insurance policy before purchasing to ensure you will have coverage at your planned destination.

Will I have to pay out of pocket for any medical expenses?

Whenever possible, Allianz Global Assistance will arrange billing with the health providers our insureds visit. However, international borders can sometimes limit our ability to do so. It’s always a good idea to bring an extra reserve of funds in case any unexpected emergencies occur where advance payment is required.

Are there events or medical conditions that aren’t covered?

Every insurance plan contains restrictions and exclusions. For more information, review the terms and conditions, including pre-existing condition exclusions, of your travel insurance policy before leaving so you fully understand your coverage should a medical emergency arise.

Claims

How do I make a claim?

Click on "How to submit a claim" and follow the required steps. You’ll need to gather all your required documents, which may include original receipts, proof of departure documents and medical reports, and submit them together with a claim form to Allianz Global Assistance. Be sure to keep a copy of everything you submit for your records.

Why do I need to submit the original receipts?

Provincial government health insurance plans will only accept original receipts. Allianz Global Assistance will keep file copies and submit the originals to the provincial health plan offices for partial reimbursement after your claim is finalized. You should keep a file copy for your records as well.

Didn't find the answer you were looking for?

Please contact us 24/7 at 1-844-310-1578 or call collect at 1-519-514-0355

© Allianz Partners

Travel insurance does not cover everything. Please refer to the policy wording for full terms and conditions, including limitations and exclusions. Travel insurance is underwritten by CUMIS General Insurance Company, a member of The Co-operators Group of Companies and administered by Allianz Global Assistance. Allianz Global Assistance is a registered business name of AZGA Service Canada Inc. and AZGA Insurance Agency Canada Ltd. Please note that remuneration may be payable to the distributor of this insurance.

Centre d'appels 24/7
Langue

FAQ sur l’assurance voyage et l’assistance

Questions générales
Votre police
Règlements
Questions générales

Qu’est-ce que l’assurance voyage?

L’assurance voyage est conçue pour vous protéger contre les pertes subies à la suite d’une urgence résultant de circonstances soudaines et imprévisibles.

Visitez la rubrique Qu’est-ce que l’assurance voyage de notre site Web pour un savoir plus.

Pourquoi ai-je besoin d’une assurance voyage?

Un régime d’assurance médicale de voyage fournit une précieuse protection des soins hospitaliers et médicaux d’urgence en cas d’accident, de blessure ou de maladie survenant malgré vous à l’extérieur de votre province de résidence. L’assurance voyage peut compenser les frais médicaux élevés liés à une maladie survenant à l’extérieur de votre province ou lorsque vous êtes aux États-Unis ou à l’étranger. De même, l’assurance annulation de voyage peut également compenser une perte financière résultant des coûts de voyage non remboursables payés d’avance si vous annulez en raison d’un motif assuré.

Visitez la rubrique Pourquoi vous avez besoin d’une assurance voyage? de notre site Web pour un savoir plus.

Comment choisir un régime d’assurance voyage?

Faites votre choix en fonction de vos besoins. Si vous êtes un Canadien voyageant à l’extérieur de votre province de résidence, vous aurez besoin d’une assurance médicale ou d’une assurance annulation de voyage, ou peut-être même des deux. Pensez à la fois à vos projets de voyage immédiats et futurs. Si vous voyagez plus d’une fois par année, pensez à souscrire un Régime annuel de soins médicaux lequel est à la fois pratique et économique.

Si vous visitez le Canada pour un court voyage d’agrément, ou que vous détenez un permis de travail temporaire ou un super visa, pensez à souscrire un Régime pour touristes visitant le Canada.

Visitez la rubrique Choisir une assurance voyage et explorez les options qui s’offrent à vous. Lisez vos documents de police et sachez en quoi consistent vos prestations, vos protections, vos limitations et vos exclusions.

Que dois-je faire si une urgence médicale survient?

Veuillez communiquer avec nous avant de chercher à obtenir des soins médicaux. Nous pourrons vous aider et vous diriger vers l’établissement offrant des soins adéquats le plus proche et communiquer avec eux en votre nom avant votre arrivée. En cas d’urgence médicale, veuillez communiquer avec notre Service d’assistance en cas d’urgence (ou demander à un membre de votre famille de le faire pour vous) au numéro sans frais 1 844 310-1578 si vous êtes en Amérique du Nord ou à frais virés au 1 519 514-0355, et ce dans les 24 heures suivant votre admission. Nous nous occuperons du reste, c'est-à-dire :

  • Confirmer la protection auprès de l’établissement
  • S’assurer que vous recevez les traitements médicaux nécessaires
  • Communiquer avec le médecin traitant et votre médecin de famille pour établir l'admissibilité aussitôt que possible
  • Établir les méthodes de facturation
  • Au besoin, mobiliser un service ambulancier aérien pour votre retour au Canada

Voyez également la rubrique Pendant votre voyage de notre site Web.

Votre police

Qu’est-ce qui est assuré? Qu’est-ce qui ne l’est pas?

Les régimes d’assurance voyage offrant des prestations d’urgence médicale, notamment le Régime de soins médicaux, le Régime de soins médicaux et annulation et le Régime annuel de soins médicaux comprennent une variété de précieuses garanties et prestations telles que l’hospitalisation d’urgence et les fournitures médicales et les services raisonnables et habituels nécessaires pour vos soins d’urgence, si vous êtes admis dans un établissement médical comme patient hospitalisé lors d’un voyage à l’extérieur du Canada. Il peut également comprendre des soins médicaux d’urgence tels que les services d’un médecin, d’un chirurgien, d’un anesthésiste ou d’un infirmier autorisés reconnus par la loi et les services des praticiens autorisés reconnus par la loi pour le traitement d’une blessure couverte, notamment un chiropraticien, un ostéopathe, un podologue, un podiatre, un acupuncteur ou un physiothérapeute. 

L’assurance voyage offrant des prestations d’urgence médicale peut également couvrir les frais pour le transport de deux parents ou amis à votre chevet si vous êtes hospitalisé. 

Vous pourriez aussi avoir droit à un traitement dentaire d’urgence si vos dents sont endommagées en raison d’un coup accidentel au visage. Le transport médical d’urgence par service ambulancier aérien vers l’établissement hospitalier le plus proche ou vers un hôpital canadien en raison d’une maladie ou d’une blessure d’urgence peut être couvert, à condition qu’il soit approuvé à l’avance par Allianz Global Assistance qui se chargera des arrangements. 

L’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout; ainsi chaque régime comporte des limitations et des exclusions, notamment pour les états de santé préexistants. Les prestations ne s’appliquent généralement pas aux frais engagés en raison d’un acte de guerre, d’un enlèvement, d’un acte de terrorisme, d’une émeute, d’une grève ou d’un mouvement populaire ou d’une visite illégale dans un pays. 

Lisez attentivement votre police d’assurance avant de voyager et visitez la rubrique Ce qui est assuré ou non de notre site Web pour un savoir plus.

Puis-je annuler mon voyage et récupérer mon argent, peu importe la raison?

La protection d’annulation de voyage ne s’applique pas à toutes les situations. Si l’assurance que vous avez souscrite comprend des prestations en cas d’annulation de voyage, cette protection rembourse les paiements effectués d’avance ou les dépôts non remboursables si vous devez annuler votre voyage pour des raisons particulières. Parmi les raisons admissibles, notons : les urgences médicales soudaines et imprévisibles, l’impossibilité d’habiter votre résidence en raison d’un incendie, d’une inondation, d’un cambriolage, d’un acte de vandalisme ou d’un désastre naturel, le détournement et la mise en quarantaine. Veuillez consulter les modalités et les conditions de votre police pour savoir ce qui est assuré.

Est-ce que cette assurance voyage me couvre partout dans le monde? La protection est-elle limitée dans certains pays?

La plupart des régimes d’assurance voyage ne couvrent pas les dépenses encourues dans une ville, une région ou un pays pour lequel Affaires mondiales Canada a émis un avertissement par écrit avant la date d'entrée en vigueur de la police et demandant d'éviter tout déplacement ou tout voyage non essentiel dans cette ville, cette région ou ce pays.

Visitez le www.voyage.gc.ca avant de souscrire une assurance voyage et encore une fois avant votre départ. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter les modalités et conditions de votre police d’assurance voyage avant la souscription afin d’être certain que vous serez protégé une fois à destination.

Devrai-je payer les frais médicaux de ma poche?

Dans la mesure du possible, Allianz Global Assistance se chargera de la facture des fournisseurs de soins de santé. Malheureusement, ce n’est pas toujours possible. Il est donc conseillé de prévoir un montant supplémentaire dans l’éventualité où un fournisseur exigerait un paiement anticipé pour une urgence médicale.

Y a-t-il des affections médicales ou des événements qui ne sont pas couverts?

Chaque police d’assurance contient des restrictions et des exclusions. Pour de plus amples renseignements, examinez les modalités et conditions de votre police d’assurance voyage avant votre départ de façon à bien comprendre votre protection si une urgence médicale devait survenir.

Règlements

Comment soumettre une demande de règlement?

Cliquez sur Soumettre une demande de règlement et suivez les étapes énumérées. Vous devrez remplir un formulaire de demande de règlement et rassembler tous vos documents requis, lesquels pourraient comprendre les reçus originaux, les preuves de départ, les rapports médicaux, et envoyer le tout à Allianz Global Assistance. N’oubliez pas de conserver dans vos dossiers une copie de tout ce que vous soumettez.

Pourquoi dois-je présenter l’original de mes reçus?

Les régimes provinciaux d’assurance maladie n’acceptent que les originaux. Allianz Global Assistance conservera une copie des reçus dans ses dossiers et enverra l’original à votre régime provincial. Nous vous recommandons d'en conserver également une copie.

Nous n'avons pas répondu à votre question?

Appelez-nous en tout temps au numéro sans frais 1 844 310‑1578 ou à frais virés au 1 519 514‑0355

L’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout. Veuillez consulter libellé de la police pour connaître toutes les modalités, y compris les limitations et les exclusions. L’assurance voyage est souscrite auprès de la Compagnie d’Assurance Générale CUMIS, l’une des sociétés du Groupe Co-operators et est administrée par Allianz Global Assistance. Allianz Global Assistance est une dénomination commerciale enregistrée d’AZGA Service Canada Inc. Veuillez noter qu’une rémunération pourrait être versée au distributeur de la présente assurance.