In which countries is
travel insurance mandatory?

More and more countries are starting to require proof of travel insurance from travellers as a requisite for entry. These counries are implementing these measures to protect themselves from the financial burden of medical bills left unpaid by visitors. Below are some of the countries where travel insurance is compulsory for the entire duration of your stay. Always check country-specific requirements for any emergency medical coverage you may be expected to have.

  • Schengen countries - Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. Some Canadian residents (e.g. Permanent residents) who hold a passport from a country where a Visa is required to enter the Schengen area even as a tourist provide proof of emergency medical coverage.
  • Antarctica
  • Aruba
  • Belarus
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Cuba
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Falkan Islands
  • Iran
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Morocco
  • Slovakia
  • St. Maarten
  • Tahiti
  • Turkey
  • Thailand
  • The UAE
  • Turks and Caicos
  • Ukraine

We always recommend seeking up-to-date information about your destination before travelling as countries beyond those listed above, may start to require travellers to show proof of emergency medical coverage upon entry.